Posted by: shopannies | December 23, 2009

Kiss My Thistle review and giveaway

We have been busy making delicious goodies to share with all those that we love. One thing that we do not make well is shortbread partly because it is not a traditional recipe of ours because we normally always find a shortbread to buy. Let me tell you all the shortbread on the market are not all the same. Some have great taste while others are a bit lame. The shortbread that Kiss My Thistle creates is good and sweet an light. Not only me but my children loved it. Your opinion may differ but the first thing you will have to do is to order some of your own to find out. I even love the name Kiss My Thistle sounds like something my late mother in law would have said she was a lovely lady that loved to have fun in all aspects of life.

Julie Heveran has been eating, sharing and creating delicious shortbread for many years. Kiss My Thistle Scottish Shortbread has been a labor of love for her family for many generations. Julie’s grandmother Kate McKechnie from Glasgow Scotland immigrated to the U.S. and brought the recipe with her. Julie learned to make the shortbread as a child and continues on.

Julie has fond memories of both her grandmother and grandfather and the Scottish recipes they would create. Julie brought back the memory of the shortbread when she would create it and give it as Christmas gifts. It always pleased those that received and they would ask for more. Julie became involved in Celtic events and even won first prize in the shortbread competition at the Highland Games. As the shortbread became popular she began to receive orders and requests. This quickly led her to develop the Kiss My Thistle where she would sell the delicious shortbread that was enjoyed by many.

Julie ships the shortbread wrapped and packed in one pound ribbon tied boxes. The shortbread will last around 4 to 6 weeks granted the bag is sealed. For a bit of luck from Glasgow after weight all the candy two more squares are added. Making approximately 35 squares to the pound.

Julie would love to offer one of Annie’s Home readers a lb of Kiss My Thistle shortbread.

To enter: visit the Kiss My Thistle website and let me know something that I did not share with you.

Extra Entries:
  • follow my blog
  • grab my button and let me know where you put it
  • subscribe to my blog
  • follow me on twitter
  • tweet (1 entry per tweet) link in comment
  • blog (5 entries) link in comment

Contest starts now and runs through January 10, 2009 Good Luck Email must be in comment or on blog

.

Leave a Reply

Categories

